Wayne State University

Local students inducted into David Mackenzie Honor Society

Helen Thomas with Jerry Herron photoIn recognition of their outstanding scholarship, service, and loyalty to Wayne State University, 17 graduates from the Class of 2006 have been inducted into the David Mackenzie Honor Society.

The society – one of the most prestigious groups at WSU – is named for David Mackenzie, the first dean of what is now the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The society was founded in 1981 through a merger of Karyatides, the former women’s honor society founded in 1931, and the Mackenzie Honor Society, organized in 1926. Members are chosen for their exceptional contributions to the welfare and development of the university and the community.

WSU alumna and legendary journalist Helen Thomas, class of 1942, was inducted as an honorary member, along with WSU staffer Ruthie Flowers of Westland.

2006 Student Inductees

Name Hometown Major
Jessica Rivait Berkley English
Aishah Chowdhri Bloomfield Hills Marketing
Kathleen Dass Bloomfield Hills Biological sciences with
Zeinab Bazzi Dearborn Heights Accounting
Kevin Brown Detroit Accounting
Steven Durant Detroit Business administration and
peace and conflict studies
David Lutz Detroit Civil engineering
Anand Tomar Farmington Hills Computer science
Emily Baker Huntington Woods Chemistry and science education
Robert Morris Lincoln Park Computer science
Laura Stevens Livonia Mathematics
Amanda Reese Macomb Interdisciplinary studies
Luis Jorge Jr. Northville Computer science
Kelly Keener Oxford Anthropology and biological
Caren Bales Shelby Township Asian studies and international
Sharon Bobryk Sterling Heights Clinical laboratory science
Brandon Kalasho Sterling Heights Accounting